2010 South Africa World Cup Draw Released

The 2010 World Cup draw was announced earlier today in Cape Town, South Africa. Co-hosted South African Oscar-winning actress Charlize Theron and FIFA secretary general Jerome Valcke, the host nation South African is comfortably mixed in with Mexico, Uruguay and France.

The “Group of Death” for this World Cup goes to Group G which is home to Brazil, Portugal, Ivory Coast and North Korea.

The USA opens with England in the Group C on June 12. The Americans beat the English in 1950 in Brazil, but with Algeria and Slovenia also in their path both teams should emerge.

Group B also figures to be hotly contested with Argentina, Nigeria, Greece and South Korea.

In Group F, the defending champion Italians will open up against Paraguay.

The World Cup groups break down this way:
Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France
Group B: Argentina, Nigeria, South Korea, Greece
Group C: England, USA, Algeria, Slovenia
Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana
Group E: Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon
Group F: Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia
Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal
Group H: Spain, Switzerland, Honduras, Chile

The World Cup officially kicks off on June 11 with the group stage concluding on the June 29. Quarterfinal play takes place on July 2-3 with the semifinals on July 6-7.

The finals will be held in Johannesburg on July 11.


Follow Us for Football Updates!